PLEASE READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE CONTACTING THE COURT:
** By law, a telephone call does not meet the requirements for answering to the charge. **
DOWNLOADABLEPLEA FORM IF YOU ARE UNDER 17 YEARS OF AGE: You cannot pre-pay the fine by mail or in person. State law requires that you must appear before the Judge. You must appear at the Court to make an appointment to see the Judge and must appear with a parent or legal guardian.
ANSWERING YOUR CHARGE BY MAIL: To pay by mail, send a cashier's check or money order with the full amount due by the appearance date on the citation to Corrigan Municipal Court, 1001 N. Home St. Corrigan, Texas 75939. Write your ticket number on your money order. Credit card payments may be made only here. A service fee will be added.
DEFENSIVE DRIVING: If you have not had a Driving Safety Course in the preceding 12 month period and have a valid Texas Driver's License, you may qualify to take the class to dismiss one violation on your ticket. 1. You must provide written notice to the Court on or before your appearance date of your desire to do so. 2. Enter a plea of No Contest on plea form (Initial Letter A), send proof of vehicle insurance or financial responsibility and a copy of driver's license. 3. Send a money order in the amount of $144.00 or ($169 if in a School Zone) for the state fee only. Do not pay the original fine also. 4. Order your Type 3A certified copy of driving record at texasonline.com or call 512-424-2600. 5. You have 90 days from your appearance date to complete a Texas approved Driving Safety Course, and return the certificate of completion and driving record to the Court. Allow at least 3 weeks to receive your certificate and driving record. No extensions will be granted.
YOU CANNOT TAKE A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE FOR THE FOLLOWING VIOLATIONS: Passing a school bus, speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit, reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident, fail to stop and give information/render aid, any offense committed in a construction zone with men working, or any violation if you have a commercial driver's license.
PAYMENT EXTENSIONS OR PAY PLANS: If you cannot afford to pay, fill out the plea form requesting an extension or a playment plan. You will need to take the total fine amount and divide it by 6 (Months) for each months payment. Send this amount plus an additional $15.00 for the payment plan to the the Municipal Court to request an extension or payment plan to pay fines on or before the appearance date on your ticket. Only the individual who received the violation can request an extension or payment plan. Payment plans will be assessed an additional $15.00 fee for each violation and the first of 6 payments must be paid at time of set up. A picture ID and cpoy of your Insurance is also required.
FAIL TO MAINTAIN FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (Vehicle Insurance): If you receive a citation for failure to provide proof of financial responsibility, you will need to bring your proof to the Municipal Court. You must have had financial responsibility at the time you received the citation. When you show proof to the court, the clerk will call the insurance company to verify proof, so please make sure your insurance company's phone number is on your card.
DISMISSAL WITH CORRECTION OF CHARGE: If you have received a citation for the following, you can request dismissal with proof of correction or renewal. Some will require a dismissal fee. Please note the ones that have a fee. Equipment violations, headlights, taillights, turn signals, etc. - $10.00 fee Expired License Plates - $20.00 fee Expired MVI (Inspection) Sticker - Renewal - $20.00 fee Expired Driver's License / Failure to Display DL Renewal /or copy - $20.00 fee Financial Responsibility - Insurance card and policy valid on the date of the citation and for the vehicle listed on the citation - NO fee.
DEFERRED DISPOSITION - REQUEST: * must be met: A plea of no contest must be entered and plea form filled out. You do not have a commercial drivers license. Enclose a copy of driver's license and proof of financial responsibility (insurance). Enclose a money order for the amount of the fine plus ($50.00) dollars. I am not presently on deferred disposition in this court. I was not cited for a violation that occurred in a construction zone with workers present. If I am under 25 years of age, I understand that I'll be required to complete a driving safety course within the probation period and provide proof of that completion to the Court as an additional condition of deferred disposition. (within 30 days) I understand that I will be placed on thirty (30) days unsupervised probation.